Spring 2019 Seminar Series


Developing Successful Job Application Materials

 Part I - Compiling your CV/Résumé: Monday February 25, 2:10-3:30pm Carver 0286
 Part II - Composing the Cover Letter: Tuesday February 26, 1:10-2:30pm Food Science 2432
 Part III - Writing the Research Statement: Wednesday February 27, 3:10-4:30pm Pearson 2157
 Part IV - Crafting your Teaching Philosophy Statement: Monday March 4, 2:10-3:30pm Carver 0286
 Part V - Creating your Diversity Statement: Tuesday March 5, 2:10-3:30pm Carver 0286
 Part VI - Enhancing your Networking Skills: Wednesday March 6, 2:10-3:30pm Science 0102
 Part VII - Improving your Interviewing Skills: Thursday March 7, 3:45-5:15pm Pearson 1115

Interpersonal Communication 

 Part I - Communicating Effectively Face to Face: Monday March 25, 3:30-5pm, Parks Library 198
 Part II - You Should Have Heard Them Listen: Verbal and Nonverbal Approaches: Wednesday March 27, 3:30-5pm, Parks Library 198
 Part III - Sticks and Stones Will Break My Bones and Words Will Never Hurt Me: Verbal Messages: Monday April 1, 3:30-5pm, Parks Library 198
 Part IV - “It’s Not What You Said; It’s How You Said It:" Nonverbal Communication: Wednesday April 3, 3:30-5pm, Parks Library 198
 Part V - It Takes Two: Conflict Management: Monday April 8, 3:30-5pm, Parks Library 198
 Part VI - Small Talk That Takes You Big Places: Social Communication: Wednesday April 10, 3:30-5pm, Parks Library 198

In Partnership with the University Library 

Gain Strategies for Conducting and Writing your Literature Review: The CCE and Parks Library are teaming up to provide a two-part workshop series targeting how to tackle one of the most challenging parts of the research article: the lit review. Register in advance to attend!


This workshop will walk you through the process of identifying and evaluating a publisher, locating funding, and exploring other options for making your research open. Whether you want to publish your dissertation or share your research data, we'll get you started! Register here.