Elena Cotos

Director, Center for Communication Excellence, Graduate College
1137A Pearson Hall
ecotos@iastate.edu
(515) 294-1958 (Phone)
(515) 294-3003 (FAX)
Homepage

Sarah Huffman

Assistant Director, Center for Communication Excellence, Graduate College
1137 Pearson Hall
shuffman@iastate.edu
(515) 294-0175
Homepage

Monica Richards

Postdoctoral Fellow
English Speaking Consultation Program Developer
1137 Pearson Hall
Homepage

Kristin Terrill

Graduate Assistant
PhD Student, Applied Linguistics & Technology
1137 Pearson Hall
kterrill@iastate.edu

Writing Consultants

   

Aaron Bertram

Thesis & Dissertation Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineer
1104 Black Engineering
bertram@iastate.edu  

Beatrise Berzina

Chemistry Disciplinary Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Chemistry
1605 Gilman
bberzina@iastate.edu

Deborah Burns 

Agronomy Disicplinary Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Sociology
103 East Hall 
dlburns@iastate.edu 

Maria Duenas 

Chemistry Disicplinary Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Chemistry
0027A Carver Co-Lab
mduenas@iastate.edu

Angelica Jasper

Thesis & Dissertation Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Gerontology
0078 LeBaron Hall
amjasper@iastate.edu 

Augusto Magalhaes-DeSouza

Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering Disciplinary Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering
2324 Elings Hall
acsouza@iastate.edu

Angie Mallory

Interdisciplinary Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Rhetoric & Professional Communication
1137 Pearson Hall
amallory@iastate.edu

Hardeep Obhi

Interdisciplinary Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Human Development & Family Studies
96 LeBaron Hall
hkobhi@iastate.edu 

Jenny Phan

Postdoctoral Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Human Development & Family Studies
4380 Palmer Building
jmphan@iastate.edu

Liberato Silva dos Santos

English Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Applied Linguistics & Technology
305 Ross Hall
liberato@iastate.edu

Mitchell Stephenson

Interdisciplinary Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Kinesiology
235 Forker Building
mistephe@iastate.edu

  

Speaking Consultants

Idée Edalatishams

English Speaking and Writing Consultant
PhD Student, Applied Linguistics & Technology
423 Ross Hall
edalati@iastate.edu

Monica Richards

English Speaking Consultant
Postdoctoral Fellow
1137 Pearson Hall
Homepage

 

Sandy Peterson

English Speaking Consultant
English 180 Instructor
Oearson 1137
sandyp@iastate.edu

Peer Writing Group Coordinator

Erin Todey 

Peer Writing Group Coordinator
PhD Student, Applied Linguistics & Technology
1137 Pearson Hall
eftodey@iastate.edu 

Former Consultants

Dr. Brett Ramirez

Assistant Professor of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering at Iowa State University

"Being a Graduate Peer Mentor gave me a concrete framwork of ideas and examples to use to make me more effective at mentoring. It made me very aware of the importance of being a good communicator. It gave me the resources and practice to enhance my skills."

Dr. Eric Murphy

Postdoctoral Associate at Iowa State University

"My experience as a GPM helped me to give constructive criticism to how arguments are being raised in papers that I review. I was also able to dissect arguments better." 

Dr. Martin Gross

President, Gross-Wen Technologies Inc.
Postdoctoral Fellow, Iowa State University

"The systematic training that I received during mentor training has greatly improved both my written and oral communication skills. Communication is key in both of my positions and being a mentor has really helped!"

Joseph Geluso

Research Assistant-Educational Testing Services

"Working at the CCE raised my awareness that writing and research are part of the same process, and that writing can provide much needed focus and guidance when progressing through a research project."

Dr. Anna Prisacari, MBA, MS

Vice President of UX Research and Marketing at Praxik

"As I write, I now engage myself in a critical thinking process, constantly asking what and why I want to say something in my paper. I always think of my target audience: will they understand my process? Do I need to provide more details?"